cutawaycomics

cut away comics logo

CutAwayComics Launches with Doctor Who Related Comics

CutAwayComics Launches with Doctor Who Related Comics

CutAwayComics, an independent comic imprint based in Manchester launches this summer featuring worlds and characters from BBC’s Doctor Who

CutAwayComics, an independent comic imprint based in Manchester launches this summer featuring worlds and characters from BBC’s Doctor Who drawing them into darker recesses of a dangerous, unpredictable cutaway universe.

Mixing writers new to comics with experienced artists, Cutaway Comics will bring a new perspective to characters from the worlds of Doctor Who using British writers and artists.

Publisher Gareth Kavanagh explains: “I was always fascinated by strips in the back of Doctor Who Weekly that didn’t feature the Doctor. Instead, the monsters took centre stage - and the stories were terrifying. Those strips launched the careers of Alan Moore and David Lloyd amongst others, and this is our homage to those unpredictable and wild stories with the next generation of talent.”

The first 'chapter' of CutAwayComics includes a visit to the giant tower block of Paradise Towers, the rogue God Omega attempting to free himself of his black hole prison and a dimension-hopping trip to 1970’s Soho in Lytton.

A noir thriller perfect for fans of Sin City and Criminal, launch title Lytton, featuring the intergalactic soldier seen in Doctor Who is a brand new story written by his creator Eric Saward and featuring art from Barry Renshaw (2000 AD).

Intergalactic soldier Lytton has swapped the battlefields for a jazz club in 1970's Soho. If only it wasn’t for the strange noises in the sewers, rumours of vicious aliens in the dark alleyways, and a terrible sense of murder in the air then everything might be perfect.

Further stories to come from CutAwayComics include Omega: Vengeance, which sees rogue God Omega pulling the strings to escape his black hole prison - but will the society of Minyos fall as a result? Influenced by Greek mythology, the mix of cosmic and mythologic will appeal to fans of The Sandman and Promethea.

Written by Mark Griffiths whose children’s book series Spy Toys (written under the pen name Mark Powers) has been optioned by Dreamworks, Omega also features art by the legendary John Ridgway.

Following Omega: Vengeance will be a return to the world of Paradise Towers, a giant tower block with teenage gangs, murderous old 'rezzies', and underground whispers that might topple the tower block once and for all - think The Thirteenth Floor meets Halo Jones. Keep looking on the CutAwayComics website for more about this story including the opportunity for artists to be involved.

Beyond the comics, each issue ordered directly from the CutAwayComics will include an exclusive bonus DVD with the following content:

  • Video commentaries on the comic featuring artist Barry Renshaw and writer Eric Saward
  • An introduction to the series from Eric Saward
  • New interviews with Eric Saward and Barry Renshaw
  • Newly recorded audio commentaries for ‘Gangsters’, the series that shot Lytton actor Maurice Colbourne to fame featuring series creator Philip Martin and BFI Historian Dick Fiddy
  • A newly recorded audio commentary for ‘The Caves of Androzani’ featuring Salateen actor Robert Glenister
  • Deleted pages, and concept art

More to Explore

Nuns with Guns! - The Demons of Eden

Nuns with Guns! - The Demons of Eden

OMEGA returns!

OMEGA returns!

Stretch Goals announced for Lytton Kickstarter!

Stretch Goals announced for Lytton Kickstarter!

CutAwayComics Launches with Doctor Who Related Comics

CutAwayComics Launches with Doctor Who Related Comics